Lemon Luscious Cake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I first had the honour of baking this cake during my 3 weeks’ stay at Le Moulin. A dear friend of mine there, Lluis, shared the original recipe with me and I just couldn’t believe how simple it is. Rarely do I find a cake recipe as simple as this and yet still packs a punch in terms of taste. We baked it twice while I was there and it never failed to become a crowd-pleaser.

As I recreated this cake for my husband’s birthday, I couldn’t help reminiscing over an argument about my age that Lluis and I had while we were baking this a couple of months ago. He had a hard time believing that I wasn’t 19 years old as he had initially thought. FYI, I was 32 years old at that time. Regardless of how ridiculous that argument was, I was obviously flattered for being mistaken to be that young. Being an Asian does have its own merits sometimes.

As for the cake, I’ve made a few modifications to the original recipe as usual.

  • 2 sticks (226 gr) of unsalted butter
  • 200 gr of self-raising flour
  • 300 gr of brown sugar, divided
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 lemons, zested & juiced

Making the batter:

  • Preheat oven to 350F (177C). Prepare a 9-inch round cake pan with removable bottom.
  • In a saucepan, melt butter and 240 gr sugar together over low heat. Turn off the heat once butter has completely melted and stir in lemon zest. Let it cool.
  • Whisk eggs in a large bowl. Once it has cooled slightly, pour a little bit of the butter sugar mixture into the eggs to temper it. Pour the rest slowly while mixing it.
  • Fold in flour. Transfer mixture to cake pan and bake for 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the centre comes out dry.
  • In the mean time, heat lemon juice and remaining sugar (60 gr) in a saucepan until sugar dissolved and mixture has reduced slightly. Immediately after the cake is out of the oven, poke holes all over with a fork and pour mixture over it. Let cake stand for a couple of hours before serving.

To serve the cake, I sprinkled it with a handful of desiccated coconut and decorated it with strawberries. At the last-minute, I had actually thought of an additional ingredient to gussy it up a bit but chose not to go with it since I needed the cake to be children-friendly. If you’re only serving the cake to grown-ups, you can add a tablespoon of limoncello to the lemon syrup before pouring it over the cake.

Have a lemony day, folks 😀

Leave a Reply

