A Picture Speaks a Thousand Words

I took this picture during my trip to Tioman in October 2006.

I titled it “The Lonely Englishman”.

I didn’t even know if the man in the picture was an Englishman, but in my imagination, he was.

 

I stumbled upon this scene while my then boyfriend and I were walking along the beach on the way back to our hotel room and thought this would make a nice picture.

I spent quite a while staring at his back, wondering what he was thinking. He cut such a dejected figure, sitting alone (mind you, there was no one else sitting beside him on the beach) and staring forlornly into the open sea at sunset. Me being the regular day-dreamer couldn’t help conjuring several stories in my head.

 

If there is a picture that can speak a thousand words, this must be one of them.

I was very proud of capturing this then. Looking back, I realized it has taught me that taking pictures during my travel isn’t just about you standing against the sea or the mountain as the backdrop while someone clicks the shutter.

It’s about capturing moments like “The Lonely Englishman” that would make your imagination run wild just by looking at it.

I want to capture more of moments like this in my next travels 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Picture Speaks a Thousand Words

  1. Hey Hikikomoritraveler, nice blog you have here =D And I agree with you this photo really speak unspoken words to the heart =)

    Can’t wait to see your future photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

